U.S. Futures Rise On Upbeat Europe Data


U.S. Futures


| BY ANNA MERET | STOCK MARKET NEWS TODAY |

U.S. futures rose on Wednesday as upbeat Chinese and European data helped ease fears of a protracted slowdown in the global economy. In China the Caixin Services purchasing managers’ index rose to a 14-month high, hinting at a stabilization in the world’s second-largest economy, while in Europe the Eurozone services PMI hit its highest rate since December.

LEARN HOW TO MAKE $125 PER DAY SENDING SIMPLE EMAILS! …

Dow futures rose 110 points or 0.4% by 6:40AM ET (10:40 GMT), while S&P 500 futures gained 14 points or 0.5% and tech-heavy Nasdaq 100 futures was up 41 points or 5%. Meanwhile, the U.S. and China have resolved most of their issues, but still need to agree on how to implement the deal, the Financial Times reported late Tuesday.

“Ninety per cent of the deal is done, but the last 10 per cent is the hardest part, it’s the trickiest part and it will require trade-offs on both sides,” Myron Brilliant, executive vice-president for international affairs at the U.S. Chamber of Commerce, said. China’s vice premier Liu He is in Washington to continue discussions with U.S. officials.


117755


Semiconductor companies rose in premarket trading, with Advanced Micro Devices (NASDAQ:AMD) up 2.9% and Micron (NASDAQ:MU) gaining 2.1%. JPMorgan Chase & Co (NYSE:JPM) inched up 0.6%, while Cisco (NASDAQ:CSCO) gained 0.6% and Perrigo (NYSE:PRGO)was up 0.9%.

GameStop (NYSE:GME) slumped 9.1% after the company reported a 5% to 10% decline in same-store sales, while Caterpillar (NYSE:CAT) slippe1.4% after Deutsche Bank (DE:DBKGn) cut its rating to hold due to backlog concerns, according to TheStreet. On the economic front, ADP (NASDAQ:ADP) private payrolls come out at 8:15 AM ET (12:15 GMT), while the ISM services sector activity is at 10:00 AM ET (14:00 GMT).

LEARN HOW TO MAKE $125 PER DAY SENDING SIMPLE EMAILS! …

In commodities, gold futures inched up 0.1% to $1,297.25 a troy ounce, while crude oil gained 0.2% to $62.70 a barrel. The U.S. dollar index which measures the greenback against a basket of six major currencies, fell 0.4% to 96.57.

WRITE TO ANNA MERET AT ANNA5.NEWSMR@SMN.TODAY
Advertisements


Categories: Stock Markets

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: